top of page
Search

London

My heart aches.

The city lurks on my mind.

Memories dance around.

Friends are missed.


London is on my mind.

It was my home.

I've been away too long.

Became a stranger.


There were bad days.

Amplified by the city.

But I still miss them.

Feeling now like a tourist.


London, I miss thee.

My heart aches.

I've fallen in love.

With a bustling city.


Morning commutes on the tube.

These are mused about.

Uni feels like a lifetime ago.

Homesick and away, my thoughts race.


How can I be at home?

But miss my home?

Expensive pints seem welcome now.


Hyde park was a relief.

Sheltered there from a stressful life.

Strolls become welcomed.

Lounging around become common.


Family vists brightened my day.

Oh, how I miss thee.

We shared some great times.

I long for thee, again.


An accepting home.

Girlfriends and boyfriends.

Romantic dates.

Night buses back at 2am.


Money given to TFL.

Riding the Tube.

Overground and DLR

All became an adventure.


Drinking for three years.

Blackouts a plenty.

Vomit everywhere.

Partied hard, perhaps too hard.


Chats with classmates.

Drinks with Lectures.

Counselling for anxiety.

Scarsdale helped me out.


High street Kensington.

My first home.

Tesco cut my costs.

So I could drink more.


Edgeware road.

My second home.

An cramped space.

It became full of meals and board games.


Woodgreen.

My third home.

More drinking, more friends.

Mental health declined.


Homesickness is here.

An city full of memories.

Late nights out.

Tired mornings, up.


Cafe's tucked away.

Alleyways full of adventure.

Snow staying.

Strangers becoming freinds.


Living off Ramen.

Working as a waiter.

Night Buses back.

These were the good nights.


Seruicty guads welcomed me back.

Money spent on chicken.

It filled the gaps the ramen left.

Late night chats in the common room.


Running out of funds.

I came home.

I had to let go.

Bankrupt and despreate.


Working hard, I rebuilt.

Still in customer service.

But at an good company.

Wondering where my future falls.


Hopefully we'll reunite.

For I miss thee.

You were my home.

I miss you, London.


Strolling around you,

You took me in.

Sober or drunk, you never judged.

Sleepless nights gave way to hidden adventures.


We'll meet again.

My home, my London.

Wait patiently, my love.

I'll come back, one day.


Till then, my city.

Till then, my friends.

I'll be back.

Better than ever, hopefully.


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Book promotion

I wrote a poetry anthology and self-published it on amazon here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0977VY44W and check out the episode where I talk about it here; https://anchor.fm/dashboard/episode/e136kt

Cursed

I am cursed To live a life without love. But to want to show it at all times. I fall love in with beauty that I know I can never have. There is no counterpart to me. Who would dare to weather my brain

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page